Everyday,
I come across a lot of
smiles.

My dad, my dog,
myself in the mirror,
my mom as she kisses me
goodbye.

I smile back.

The janitor down the
first floor,

the kid and his mom
on the way to preschool,

the nice old man
who buys his wife flowers
every morning.

I smile back.

But there’s a girl who smiles.

Eight in the morning;
Glasses, a couple of books on one arm;

Strides down the walkway
like the speed of her footsteps
keeps the world in its balance.

Everyday,
I come across a lot of
smiles.

But there’s a girl who smiles.

There’s a girl who smiles
not only for the is,
but for the will be.

The crinkle in her eyes tells me she will be going far.

I smile back,
following behind her.

–Β “There’s a girl who smiles.” — for Quiana.

LL.

Leave a Reply

