Driving down the city
Toyota in white and black
Seatbelts down, wipers up
A sheet of clouds
A sheet of rain

They say
If you drive far enough
You’ll reach the end of the rain
The entire country can’t be under the grey,
they say
At one point you’ll see the sky again
At one point the tires will hit dry

I’ve been driving for years

The sun peeks out at times
A ray or two from time to time
A tiny light
Just enough to see
Scratches on the windshield
A bit here and there
I suppose, from the wipers
Wiping the rain away so I can see

This road is unfamiliar
But I suppose it’s also not
I guess everything kind of looks the same nowadays

I’ve been driving for years

I’m tired

–Β “Toyota in White and Black”

LL.

Leave a Reply

