Mommy,
have you eaten tonight?

There’s some food left in the pot.
Why won’t you eat it tonight?

Mommy,
where are you going?

Are you getting out of bed?

I saw you last night, you came home late last night.
Won’t you rest a bit more and come back to bed?

Mommy,
I’ve been wondering.

They keep asking us: “Are you alright, being incomplete?”

I don’t understand.
You’ve never made us feel anything but complete.

Mommy,
I’ve been wondering.

Don’t you ever get tired?
Don’t you ever want to say goodbye?
Don’t you ever want to pack and leave us both behind?

Sometimes,

I go to sleep
thinking I’ll wake up to nothing but the shadow you left behind.

But morning always comes.

With food on the table,
Money in the bank,
And worries that were no one else’s but mine.

I know it’s hard,
I know we never made it easy.

But,

Thank you for never getting tired.
Thank you for never wanting to say goodbye.
Thank you for never wanting to pack and leave us both behind.

Mommy,
I don’t think they understand.

When they call you incomplete,
they might have been thinking you needed another;

But in the years we didn’t have another,
Only the complexities of the world, and each other,

We never had only a mother.

We had a mother.
And she was more than enough.

–Β “Complete” —Β for all the single mothers in the world, including mine.

LL.

Leave a Reply

