Mother,
when I die,

please know that I am happy;

know that beyond the suffering,
there is only peace.

The quiet has finally come.

Mother,
when I die,

please don’t cry;

if you really must, go ahead,
cry the one last time.

I am where I long to be.

Mother,
when I die,

please understand you’re not at fault;

what color brick road I end up taking,
I take it for myself, and I take it alone.

The trigger was never yours to pull.

Mother,
when I die,

please be happy;

maybe not at once, maybe not right away,
but I hope happiness finds its way back to you, one day.

I hope we can be happy together,
one day.

–Β “Love,”

LL.

Leave a Reply

