I underestimated how you were always the one who kept me sane.

You kept my harmful hands in check,
held me back from doing things I might later regret.

There was never a need to scream,
in agony,
in despair,
for it was you who gave me a reason
to live in this ink-stained era of full-blown proportions;

It was you who gave me a reason to smile again,
to believe that a world with colors this vibrant could not possibly be so bad;

It was you who brought the tears to my face,
when for so long they’ve been fighting to break through;

You broke me,
from the circle of painful apathy that trapped me beneath its surface.

You broke me,
and you taught me to feel,
when I’ve lost all hope
of ever feeling again.

–Β “Marissa”

LL.

Leave a Reply

