tweez·ers (n):
/ˈtwēzərz/

So,
my once dear friend,

Do you still
carry that habit
of plucking off
from your life,
people who cease to be of use to you,
like stray eyebrow hairs
on an otherwise
impeccably groomed
face?

Hey, you know–

I heard your kids
have nice eyebrows, too?

I heard they
never stay out
past five,

I heard they
always submit
their homework
on time,

I heard they’re
afraid to venture
a single step
out of line.

I heard
they’re counting
the days
till they’re
too bushy to keep around.

Is this true,
is this right,
my once dear friend,
who thought I was
too bushy to keep around?

– salita project, xii.

LL.

Leave a Reply

